CD Review: The Parenthood Soundtrack

There is truly an art to creating a great soundtrack, and it’s probably why some of my favourite albums of all time just happen to be movie or TV soundtracks. Finding the right combination of songs that captures the essence of a show and its characters is not random, and now there’s another that’s been added to my list – the Parenthood Soundtrack!

For all of you who still love the full CD experience, it’ll be in stores tomorrow, October 5th (it’s been available for digital download since late August).

From the heart crushingly beautiful “Colors” by Amos Lee, to the infectiously catchy “Kick Drum Heart” by The Avett Brothers, this will keep you company on the commute to work, or motivate you to clean the house. I’d also be bold enough to suggest it as the perfect music for your next get together. Liza Richardson, Parenthood‘s Music Supervisor, co-produced the soundtrack, and had this to share:

“Working on “Parenthood” is a music supervisor’s dream. I’m working with extremely creative pros. These are people who love music and understand how to put the right song in the right scene and effectively help tell a story. The editors, the writers, the execs all make a huge contribution to the way the show sounds.”

I haven’t enjoyed a TV show soundtrack this much since Six Feet Under: Everything Ends … is it just a crazy coincidence that Peter Krause is on both?

Here’s the tracklist:

1. Forever Young – Bob Dylan
2. Darlin’ Do Not Fear – Brett Dennen
3. Colors – Amos Lee
4. Kick Drum Heart – The Avett Brothers
5. Put Your Records On – Corrine Bailey Rae
6. In My Dreams – Eels
7. Change of Time – Josh Ritter
8. When We Were Young – Lucy Schwartz
9. In These Arms – The Swell Season
10. Solitaire – Wilco
11. Let It Be Me – Ray LaMontagne
12. Forever Young – John Doe & Lucy Schwartz

Cover Art Courtesy of Universal Music Group

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *