Caffeine – TV News – March 26th Edition

This week’s TV news brings us a huge batch of CBS renewals, some exciting pilot casting, and more …

Premiere dates:
April 14th: Fortitude
April 23rd: El Chapo
July 18th: Being Mary Jane

Renewed: The Big Bang Theory (for two seasons), Shut Eye, Bull, MacGyver, Kevin Can Wait, Man with a Plan, Superior Donuts, Hawaii Five-0, Blue Bloods, NCIS: Los Angeles, Madam Secretary, Scorpion, NCIS: New Orleans, Life in Pieces, Mom

Cancelled: The Knick

Four of Lucifer‘s Season 2 episodes are being moved to Season 3.

The Night Shift is doing an episode written and directed by veterans.

New showrunners:
Bull: Glenn Gordon Caron
Shut Eye: John Shiban
Untitled CBS Navy SEAL pilot: Ed Redlich

Showrunner Dave Erickson is leaving Fear the Walking Dead.

EP Amy Berg is leaving Counterpart.

In development:
Amazon: An Iran-Contra limited series starring Colin Farrell as Oliver North
Bad Robot: A 1980s dramedy about the rise of RuPaul
Blumhouse/Amblin: ESP series Phenomena
Freeform: Flight attendant comedy Flighty
History Channel: Anthology scripted series The Commanders about the presidents
Hulu: A 90s teen drama from James Franco and Seth Rogen
Karga Seven Pictures: Ottoman Empire mystery series The Janissary Tree
Keshet Studios: A political correctness comedy, an adaptation of Thank You for Smoking, a 1920s Ellis Island immigration drama
Netflix: Present-day Jesus drama Messiah
Paramount/Telefe: Multilingual Nazi hunter drama Cazadores
Showtime: Mexican border brothers comedy Los Hermanos

Netflix is looking to join BBC supernatural thriller Requiem.

Promoted to series regular:
Supergirl: Katie McGrath
Westworld: Talulah Riley

Guest stars:
The Alienist: Falk Hentschel
Bates Motel: Natalia Cordova-Buckley
Being Mary Jane: Raney Branch
Black-ish: Chris Brown
Blindspot: Mary Stuart Masterson
Bull: Johnathan Fernandez
Chicago P.D.: Dana Ashbrook
Dynasty: Brianna Brown
Fresh Off the Boat: Michael Bolton
Kevin Can Wait: Leah Remini
NCIS: New Orleans: Sheryl Crow
Philip K. Dick’s Electric Dreams: Timothy Spall, Rebecca Manley, Anthony Boyle, Rudi Dharmalingham, Tuppence Middleton, Anne Reid, Ann Akin, Hayley Squires, Tom Brooke, Nicole Agada, Marko Leht, Matthew Raymond, Naveed Khan
Queen Sugar: Yohance Myles
The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt: Daveed Diggs, Laura Dern, Rachel Dratch, Ray Liotta, Andrea Martin, Maya Rudolph
Untitled ABC start-up comedy pilot: Chris Sacca

Blindspot: Karishma Ahluwalia
The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt: Fred Armisen, Anna Camp, Mike Carlsen, Josh Charles, David Cross, Tina Fey, Jon Hamm, Amy Sedaris

Altered Carbon: Adam Busch
Amy’s Brother: Sharif Atkins
Bancroft: Sarah Parish, Faye Marsay, Linus Roache
Berlin Station: Ashley Judd
Bull: Eliza Dushku
El Chapo: Marco de la O, Humberto Busto, Juan Carlos Olivas, Alejandro Aguilar, Tete Espinoza, Rodrigo Abed, Luis Rábago, Cristina Michaus, Valentina Acosta, Juliette Pardau
Charlie Foxtrot: Robert Baker
The Chi: Jahking Guillory
Collateral: Carey Mulligan
Difficult People: John Cho
Fargo: Olivia Sandoval
Fear the Walking Dead: Daniel Sharman
The Flash: Anne Dudek
The Get: Amy Brenneman
Hannah Royce’s Questionable Choices: Kyle Howard
Happy!: Bobby Moynihan
Insatiable: Irene Choi
Linda from HR: Ryan Michelle Bathe (replacing Angel Laketa Moore)
The Long Road Home: Michael Kelly, Jason Ritter, Kate Bosworth, Sarah Wayne Callies, Jeremy Sisto, Noel Fisher, Jon Beavers, E.J. Bonilla, Jorge Diaz, Ian Quinlan, Darius Homayoun, Patrick Schwarzenegger
The Looming Tower: Peter Sarsgaard
Me, Myself & I: Jaleel White, Sharon Lawrence
Mission Control: Peyton List, Ricardo Chavira (replacing Nestor Serrano), Wunmi Mosaku
Peaky Blinders: Adrien Brody
Perfect Citizen: Brian Stokes Mitchell
Quantico: Jon Kortajarena
Real Life: Kristen Johnston, Bret Harrison
Redliners: Tommy Flanagan, Rodney To
Las Reinas: Shalim Ortiz
Relatively Happy: Derek Gaines
The Resident: Valerie Cruz
Salvation: Dennis Boutsikaris, Aaron Poole
Sharp Objects: Chris Messina, Matt Craven
Shelter: JJ Feild, Latarsha Rose, Jamie McShane
The Trustee: L. Scott Caldwell, Berto Colon
Type-A: Dulce Sloan
Unsolved: Luke James, Aisha Hinds, LeToya Luckett
Versace: American Crime Story: Penelope Cruz
Waco: John Leguizamo
What About Barb?: Tyler Sanders
Zac and Mia: Kian Lawley, Anne Winters
Untitled CBS hate crimes drama pilot: Omar Metwally
Untitled CBS Navy SEAL drama pilot: David Boreanaz (replacing Jim Caviezel)

(Image courtesy of Sky Atlantic.)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *