Caffeine – TV News – August 11th Edition

This week’s TV news brings us the final batch of headlines from the recent TCA press tour!

Premiere dates:

September 6th: Elite
September 20th: Criminal

October 7th: Black Lightning (new earlier date)


Atlanta, Snowfall, Mr. Iglesias


The 100 (after the upcoming seventh season), The OA

Other headlines:

Black Lightning characters will appear in this year’s Arrowverse crossover for the first time.

Good Trouble is getting a two-hour holiday special.

Season two of A Million Little Things will have 19 episodes.

Kim Harrison is the new showrunner for Fox’s Deputy.

Phill Lewis will direct the first batch of episodes of The Big Show Show.

NBC has ordered more Bluff City Law scripts.

Ordered to series:

Amazon: Paranormal investigation comedy-horror series Truth Seekers
FX: Impeachment: American Crime Story produced by Monica Lewinsky and starring Sarah Paulson, Beanie Feldstein, and Annaleigh Ashford
Netflix: Ballet drama Tiny Pretty Things starring Lauren Holly, Kylie Jefferson, Casimere Jollette, Daniela Norman, Brennan Clost, Michael Hsu Rosen, Damon J. Gillespie, Bayardo De Murguia, Barton Cowperthwaite, Tory Trowbridge, Jess Salgueiro

In development:

ABC: Civil rights anthology series Women of the Movement from Jay-Z, Will Smith, and Aaron Kaplan, limited series Fall and Rise: The Story of 9-11, a Fresh Off the Boat spinoff, family drama Love Me
Amazon: A series adaptation of Event Horizon
BET: Family legal drama Sister Code
The CW: Ricki Lee Jones drama The Horses
Fox: An adaptation of Our Kind of People
Fox Entertainment: An adaptation of P.I. book series The Spellman Files
HBO Max: Korean-American Anna Karenina YA series Anna K based on Jenny Lee’s novel
Quibi: Astrophysics drama One Night Forever

Leaving their shows:

Arrow: Colton Haynes
Madam Secretary: Sara Ramirez

Promoted to series regular:

Empire: Vivica A. Fox
On My Block: Julio Macias

Guest stars:

Arrowverse crossover: Kevin Conroy
The Goldbergs: Christie Brinkley, Anthony Michael Hall
Will & Grace: Chris Parnell, Ali Wentworth, Patton Oswalt


Arrow: Rila Fukushima
Will & Grace: Brian Jordan Alvarez


The Angel of Darkness: Lara Pulver
Away: Talitha Bateman, Ato Essandoh, Mark Ivanir, Ray Panthaki, Vivian Wu
The Baby-Sitters Club: Alicia Silverstone, Mark Feuerstein
Behind Her Eyes: Simona Brown, Eve Hewson, Tom Bateman, Robert Aramayo
Chicago Fire: Alberto Rosende
Cursed: Bella Dayne
Dare Me:
Adrian Walters, Amanda Brugel
Dr. Death: Jamie Dornan, Alec Baldwin, Christian Slater
FBI: John Boyd
Fear the Walking Dead: Holly Curran
Madam CJ Walker: Tiffany Haddish, Carmen Ejogo, Blair Underwood, Garrett Morris, Kevin Carroll
The Oval: Javon Johnson, Ptosha Storey, Vaughn Hebron, Teesha Renee, Lodric Collins, Ciera Payton, Taja V. Simpson, Walter Fantleroy, Brad Benedict, Travis Cure, Matthew Law
The Purge: Rochelle Aytes, Danika Yarosh
Reprisal: Bethany Anne Lind
Royalties: Kether Donohue
Save Me: Lesley Manville
SEAL Team: Emily Swallow
Shameless: Rachel Dratch, Anthony Alabi
Tommy: Thomas Sadoski (replacing David Fierro)
The Walking Dead: Juan Javier Cardenas
The Walking Dead spinoff: Nico Tortorella
Why Women Kill: Li Jun Li
Yellowstone: Q’orianka Kilcher, Jennifer Landon
Untitled ABC Nat Bargatze pilot: Debra Jo Rupp

(Image courtesy of Netflix.)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *