Caffeine – TV News – August 23rd Edition

Happy Sunday! A quick note: My brother’s getting married next weekend (yay!) so I’ll be back with a double dose of TV news in two weeks.

Here’s the past week’s TV news, including renewals, cancellations, series orders, casting, guest stars and more.

Renewed: Young & Hungry, Another Period

Cancelled: Haven

TNT has ordered additional episodes of Major Crimes.

Showrunners Jennifer Schuur and Josh Reims have left The Catch. It sounds like Allan Heinberg may take over.

Showrunner Andrew Dettman has left Chicago Med.

Netflix’s Montauk is now called Stranger Things.

Nicole Holofcener will direct Amazon’s Tig Notaro comedy.

Pilot orders:
ABC: A Marvel Mockingbird spinoff starring Adrianne Palicki and Nick Blood
Hulu: Seth Rogen/Evan Goldberg comedy Future Man
TNT: Jerry Bruckheimer family drama Home

In development:
ABC: Shondaland divorce comedy Splitsville
CBS: Navy SEAL drama The Red Circle from Mark Harmon, a Facebook comedy, a Mythbusters CIA (huh) drama, a modern Sawyer & Huck detective drama
CBS Television Studios: Sci fi adaptation Luna
Fox: A military/CIA drama, a Kentucky bourbon family drama, a Compton medical drama from Howard Gordon, Peter Facinelli graphic novel adaptation Protocol Orphans, a Chernin brothers comedy
Garth Ancier: Movie star spy drama The Man Who Wasn’t adapted from Thomas Caplan’s books
Keshet Studios: French drama adaptation Chefs
NBC: Legal soap Miranda’s Rights, New Orleans family drama House of the Rising Sin, a Rod Man comedy, music drama Talent, Kentucky bourbon drama The Bourbon Kings, a Cain and Abel sexy soap
Showtime: A comedy based on Mat Johnson novel Loving Day
Slingshot Global Media: A Cleopatra drama

Promoted to series regular:
Ballers: Arielle Kebbel
Sleepy Hollow: Lance Gross, Zach Appelman

Guest stars!
12 Monkeys: David Dastmalchian, David Marchiano
Billions: Noah Emmerich, Kerry Bishe
black-ish: Tyra Banks
Crowded: Clifford McGhee
Gotham: Michelle Veintimilla
Grandfathered: Patrick Fischler
The Grinder: Emmanuelle Chriqui
Last Man Standing: Jay Leno
Madam Secretary: Morgan Freeman
Person of Interest: Keith David
The X-Files: Vik Sahay

Arrow: Charlotte Ross
Law & Order: SVU: Lindsay Pulsipher

The Ambassador’s Wife: Anne Hathaway
American Crime: Stephanie Sigman
American Horror Story: Hotel: Mare Winningham
Animal Kingdom: Ben Robson
The Arrangement: Christine Evangelista
Beowulf: Joe Sims, Lee Boardman, David Bradley, Ace Bhatti, Gregory Fitoussi
Blood & Oil: Wilson Bethel
Bloodline: John Leguizamo
Chicago Fire: Fredric Lehne
Coach: Malcolm Barrett
Crazy Ex-Girlfriend: Tony Plana
The Durrells: Keeley Hawes, Leslie Caron, Josh O’Connor, Callum Woodhouse, Daisy Waterstone, Milo Parker, Alexis Georgoulis, Yorgos Karamihos, Christopher Sciueref
Empire: Mo McRae
Finding Carter: Jackson Rathbone
Graceland: Annie Ilonzeh
Grimm: Carlson Young
The Group: Michael Cassidy
Guilt: Katrina Law, Billy Zane, Daisy Head, Cristian Solimeno, Naomi Ryan, Kevin Ryan, Zachary Fall, Simona Brown, Sam Cassidy, Dinita Gohill
Hawaii Five-0: Michael Maize
I Shudder: Megan Hilty, Paul Rudnick, John Behlmann, Geneva Carr, Brooklyn Shuck
Incorporated: Dennis Haysbert, David Hewlett, Ian Tracey
Luke Cage: Alfre Woodard
The Magicians: Tembi Locke
Manhattan: Neve Campbell, William Petersen, Mamie Gummer, Griffin Dunne
One of Us: Laura Fraser, Juliet Stevenson, Joanna Vanderham, John Lynch, Adrian Edmondson, Georgina Campbell, Joe Dempsie, Kate Dickie, Julie Graham, Gary Lewis, Steve Evets
Orange Is the New Black: Shannon Esper
The Player: Nick Wechsler, Daisy Betts
Scorpion: Peri Gilpin
Secrets and Lies: Eric Winter
Shades of Blue: Antonio Jaramillo
Shameless: Will Sasso
Snowfall: Jill Scott, Lauren London, Andrew Howard, Manuel Uriza
Stranger Things: Finn Wolfhard, Millie Brown, Gaten Matarazzo, Caleb McLaughlin, Noah Schnapp, Natalia Dyer, Charlie Heaton
Supergirl: Levi Miller
Trial: Olivia Thirlby
Truth Be Told: Ashley Tisdale
Untitled Tig Notaro pilot: John Rothman

(Image courtesy of ABC Family.)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *