ATX Television Festival Celebrates Season 10 with Impressive Virtual Lineup

Season 10 of the ATX Television Festival is only three weeks away, and although we can’t celebrate in person once again this year, there’s a super-sized virtual lineup taking place over 10 days.

Here are some of the panels, screenings and conversations that we’re most excited about this year.

  • Showrunner State of the Union panel, featuring Angela Kang (The Walking Dead), Steven Canals (Pose), Michael Waldron (Loki), and Courtney Lilly (black-ish).
  • A conversation with the creator and stars of Kevin Can F**K Himself, with creator/executive producer Valerie Armstrong, star Annie Murphy, and co-star Mary Hollis Inboden.
  • A marquee conversation with the cast and creatives of Mythic Quest. Panelists include co-creator/executive producer/star Rob McElhenney, co-creator/executive producer Megan Ganz, executive producer/star David Hornsby, series writer/star Ashly Burch, and stars Charlotte Nicdao, F. Murray Abraham, Danny Pudi, Imani Hakim, and Jessie Ennis.
  • Virtual panel with co-creator/executive producer Dana Fox and the cast of Home Before Dark, plus Hilde Lysiak, the real-life journalist who inspired the series.
  • Inside the writers’ room with Blindspotting, the TV series inspired by the 2018 feature film from writers/producers/stars Rafael Casal and Daveed Diggs. Panelists include Casal and Diggs, along with writers Alanna Brown, Nijla Mumin, Priscila Garcia-Jacquier, and Benjamin Turner.
  • An early look at the first episode of Sex/Life, followed by a conversation with creator/showrunner Stacy Rukeyser, executive producer J. Miles Dale, and cast members Sarah Shahi, Adam Demos, Mike Vogel, and Margaret Odette.
  • An unaired pilot screening of History of Them from creator, writer, executive producer and ATX Advisory Board Member Gloria Calderón Kellett and directed by Pam Fryman. The screening will be followed by a conversation with Calderón Kellett, Fryman, and cast members Brett Dier, Ana Villafañe, Caitlin McGee, Chris Powell, Amit Shah, and Felix Solis.
  • Indigenize the Narrative, a conversation with Native American and Indigenous actors, writers, directors, and producers. Panelists include showrunner/executive producer/co-creator Sierra Teller Ornelas (Rutherford Falls), director Sydney Freeland (Rutherford Falls, The Wilds), actor Michael Greyeyes (Rutherford Falls, Home Before Dark), actor Kimberly Guerrero (Rutherford Falls, The Wilds), and writer Migizi Pensoneau (Two Sentence Horror Stories, Reservation Dogs).
  • The Messy Middle, presented with DREDF’s Disability Media Alliance Project. The conversation will examine representation of visible disabilities onscreen with writers and actors who are exploring the uncharted territory of the “messy middle,” where characters with disabilities are just as flawed, funny, and despicable as anyone else. Panelists include actor Steve Way (Ramy), actor Sofiya Cheyenne (Loudermilk), actor Ryan J. Haddad (The Politician), writer/producer Katherine Beattie (NCIS: New Orleans), and actor Kayla Cromer (Everything’s Gonna Be Okay).
  • A panel on the evolution of HIV and AIDS storytelling on television with creatives from ER, Pose, and Looking.
  • A screening of the Season 5 premiere of The Good Fight, followed by a conversation with co-creators, showrunners, and executive producers Robert and Michelle King along with stars Christine Baranski and Audra McDonald, and new cast members Charmaine Bingwa and Mandy Patinkin.
  • A conversation with ATX Award in Television eXcellence recipient and award-winning actor, producer, activist, and author Michael J. Fox and Emmy-nominated creator, writer, producer, and actor Denis Leary.
  • ATX presents its first Breakthrough Award to actor, writer, producer, and human rights advocate Angelica Ross (Pose, American Horror Story: 1984) including a conversation about her career, advocacy work, and her work in TV.

You can check out the complete lineup (including opening and closing night screenings) here.

Season 10 of the ATX Television Festival runs from June 11-20, 2021. Festival badges and day passes are available for purchase here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *